Union Theological Seminary Academics
 

Academics

Academic Calendar 2012-2013


Academic calendars at affiliated institutions (Columbia University, Teachers College, etc.) are not always identical to Union’s calendar. Union students who will be enrolled at another school are advised to obtain information about the class schedules and academic holidays at the host institution.

Download 2012-2013 Academic Calendar

Fall 2012

August 24-25, Friday-Saturday

Housing open for move-in
9 a.m.-5 p.m.

August 27, Monday

Orientation activities begin for new students

September 3, Monday

Labor Day. Union Theological Seminary closed for holiday

September 4, Tuesday

Academic Advisement and Registration for New Students (Fall Term)
1:30-5:30 p.m. - New Students only 

September 5, Wednesday

Academic Advisement and Registration for New & Returning Students (Fall Term)
9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m. – New & Returning Students

September 6, Thursday

First Semester classes begin

September 7-13, Friday-Thursday

Late registration with payment of late fee

September 12, Wednesday

Modern language examinations: French, German, Spanish 
2:00-4:00 p.m.
Room 207

September 13, Thursday

Last day for late registration

September 19, Wednesday

Last day to add or drop a course

October 11-12, Thursday-Friday

Union Days, Alumni/ae Days (no classes)

November 1, Thursday

Last day to withdraw from a course or change to Audit without academic penalty
Topics for M.Div. and M.A. theses are due in the Registrar’s Office.

November 12-15, Monday-Thursday

Academic advisement for Spring Term and Early Registration

November 19-23, Monday-Friday

Thanksgiving holidays

November 28, Wednesday

Modern language examination: French, German, Spanish
2:00-4:00 p.m. Room 207

December 3, Monday

Outlines and bibliographies for M.Div. and M.A. theses are due in Registrar’s Office.

December 7, Friday

Last day of Fall Semester classes

December 10-13, Monday-Thursday

Reading days

December 14, Friday

Last date that may be set as due date for all course requirements other than final examinations.
Last day to apply to the Academic Office for Extensions in First Semester courses

December 14-19, Friday-Wednesday

Final examination

December 19, Wednesday

End of Fall Semester

December 20 - January 2, Thursday-Wednesday

Christmas holidays 

Spring 2013

January 3-25, Thursday-Friday

January Intersession

January 14, Monday

Latest permissible Extension due date for First Semester course work

January 21, Monday

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (no classes)

January 29, Tuesday

Registration for Second Semester
9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

January 30, Wednesday

Second Semester classes begin

January 31-February 6, Thursday-Wednesday

Late registration with payment of late fee

February 6, Wednesday

Last day for late registration

February 6, Wednesday

Modern language examinations: French, German, Spanish
2:00-4:00 p.m. Room 207

February 12, Tuesday

Last day to add or drop a course (for previously registered students).

February 13, Wednesday

Ash Wednesday (no classes)

March 15, Friday

Deadline for next year’s financial aid applications

March 18-22, Monday-Friday

Spring Holidays

March 28 - April 1, Thursday-Monday

Easter holidays (no classes) Administrative offices closed
from Thursday 5:00 p.m. through Sunday

April 2, Tuesday

Last day to withdraw from a course or change to Audit without academic penalty
M.Div. and M.A. these due in Registrar’s Office

April 10, Wednesday

Modern language examinations: French, German, Spanish
2:00-4:00 p.m. Room 207

April 15-18, Monday-Thursday

Academic Advisement for Fall Term and Early Registration

May 6, Monday

Last day of Second Semester classes

May 7-9, Tuesday-Thursday

Academic Advisement for Fall Term and Early Registration

May 6, Monday

Last day of Second Semester classes

May 7-9, Tuesday – Thursday

Reading days

May 10, Friday

Last day that may be set as due date for all course requirements other than final examinations.
Last day to apply for Academic Office for Extensions in Second Semester courses. Extensions are not allowed to graduating students

May 10-14, Friday-Tuesday

Final examinations

May 14, Tuesday

Grades for graduating students are due in Registrar’s Office at 10:00 a.m.

May 17, Friday

One hundred seventy-fifth commencement
4:00 p.m.
The Quadrangle

May 27, Monday

Holiday – Memorial Day observed

June 10, Monday

Latest permissible Extension due date for Second Semester course work

©Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York

3041 Broadway at 121st Street, New York, NY 10027 | Tel: (212) 662-7100

online@uts.columbia.edu