Alumni Relations

Alumni/ae Relations

Unitas Distinguished Alumni/ae Awards

The Unitas Distinguished Alumni/ae Awards, established in 1994, bear witness to the faith and perseverance of living Union alumni/ae who exemplify the Seminary’s academic breadth, its diversity and inclusiveness, and the range of vocations its graduates follow. Recipients represent all of the Union graduates who have distinguished themselves in the church, academy, and society across the country and around the world.

2013 Unitas Distinguished Alumni/ae Award Recipients

Each October during Union Days alumni/ae, through the Alumni/ae Council, honor their own with the Unitas Distinguished Alumni/ae Awards. The recipients represent all union graduates who have distinguished themselves in the church, academy, and society across the country and around the world. 

The Rev. Dr. Luis Cortés, Jr., MDiv 1981.  Recognized as a national leader of Hispanic concerns and community development, Rev. Cortés founded Esperanza (formerly known as Nueva Esperanza, Inc. and Esperanza USA) in 1987. The inspiration for Esperanza grew out of the Hispanic Clergy of Philadelphia and Vicinity, also founded by Rev. Cortés in 1982.  He is the author of several books and has won numerous awards and honors.  He was featured as one of Time magazine’s “25 Most Influential Evangelicals” in January 2005, and he had the privilege of offering the invocation prayer at the Inaugural Luncheon for President Obama following the 2013 Inaugural Ceremonies.

The Rev. Dr. Kelly Brown Douglas, MDiv 1982, PhD 1988.  The first African-American woman to be ordained an Episcopal priest in the Southern Ohio Diocese (and one of only five nationwide at the time), Dr. Douglas is the Susan D. Morgan Professor of Religion and Director of the Religion Program at Goucher College in Maryland.  She is the author of several books, most recently The Black Body and The Black Church / A Blues Slant, and was honored as a Womanist Legend by the Black Religious Scholars Group in March, 2012. 

The Rev. Dr. Christopher L. Morse, STM 1968, PhD 1976.  Appointed to the Union Faculty in 1974, Dr. Morse was installed as the first incumbent of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Chair in Theology and Ethics in 1994, and taught at Union for 39 years until his retirement in 2013.  He has lectured around the world on Bonhoeffer's theological legacy and a variety of other topics, among them dogmatics, American politics, hermeneutics, metaphysics, ethics, and the apocalypse.  His major published work is Not Every Spirit: A Dogmatics of Christian Disbelief, a text used by a number of schools and seminaries, and now in its second edition.  

Dr. Steven C. Rockefeller, MDiv 1963, PhD 1973.  Professor Emeritus of Religion and former Dean of the College at Middlebury College, Dr. Rockefeller is actively involved in the Earth Charter Initiative, which has endeavored to identify and articulate shared values that provide an ethical foundation for the emerging global community.  From 2000 to 2010 he served as co-chair of the Earth Charter International Council, which has 100 affiliates in 57 different countries. The Earth Charter has been translated into 40 languages and endorsed by over 5,000 organizations globally, including UNESCO and the World Conservation Union (IUCN).

Unitas Distinguished Alumni/ae Award Recipients

David Gushee M.Phil. '87, Ph.D. '93
Andrea Smith M.D.iv. '97
Thomas J. Philipp M.Div. '62
Dennis Wiley M.Phil. '85, Ph.D. '88

Rev. John Collins '61
The Rt. Rev. Disani Christopher Senyonjo '66, '67
The Rev. Dr. William Epps '69
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bounds '86, '94

Wayne C. Hartmire '60
Dwight N. Hopkins '84 '87 '88
Mary Evelyn Tucker '82 '85
Walter Wink '59 '63

Debra W. Haffner '02
Mark S. Hanson '72
John W. Kinney '79
Larry L. Rasmussen '70
Phyllis Trible '56, '63
George W. (Bill) Webber '48, '64

Frederick Buechner '58
William C. Gaventa, Jr. '72
Anne Hale Johnson '56
Susan Deborah King '73
Andrew R.C. McLellan '69
John Weaver '68
Delores S. Williams '91

William E. Gibson '51, '72
Coleman B. Brown '59, '79
Lloyd W. Chapin '61, '67
Mark Juergensmeyer '65
Penna Rose '68
Barbara Gerlach '71
John Mack '71
Marvin A. McMickle '73
Katie Geneva Cannon '83

Paul D. Clasper '50, '53
Bernice Powell Jackson '91
Mineo Katagiri '44 (posthumously)
Daisy L. Machado '81
Jack Nelson-Pallmeyer '77
LeRoy Patrick '42, '46 (posthumously)
Margaret E. Towner '54
Kang Won-Yong '56 (posthumously)

Malcolm Boyd '56
Ada Maria Isasi-Diaz '85
John D. Miller '70
Paul Sherry '58

Priscilla Chaplin '57
Edward Farley '58
Gerre Hancock '61
Judith Hancock '61
Edward L. Long, Jr. '48
Joseph L. Roberts, Jr. '59
John D. Twiname '83

Suzan Johnson Cook '83
Walter Harrelson '49
Roy I. Sano '57

James A. Forbes, Jr. '62
Beverly W. Harrison '56
William J. Shaw '57

Brenda G. Husson, D.D. '83
Chan Kook Kim '55
Richard I Rodriguez '69 (won the award in ’99 received the award in ’00)
Charles Shelby Rooks '53

Joseph B. Ingle '73
William J. Nottingham '53
Letty M. Russell '67

Carter Heyward '71
Roger L. Shinn '41
Robert A. Warrior '92

Robert S. Baker '40
Quentin J. Faulkner '75
Heidi R. Hadsell '74
Marilyn J. Keiser '65
T. Guthrie Speers, Jr. '53
David K. Suh '66
William D. Watley '80

Dorothy C. Bass '72
Donald L. Benedict '49
Jacquelyn Grant '82
George M. Houser '41
Peter D. Latuihamallo '50

Alvin A. Carmines '61
Alisa R. Del Tufo '81
Douglas J. Hall '56
Mary Ann Lundy '57
Olivia P. Stokes '52

John C. Bennett '27
Walter Brueggemann '61
Gonzalo Castillo-Cardenas '62
Hyun Kyung Chung '87
Ella P. Mitchell '43
Melvin E. Schoonover '56
Nancy H. Sehested '78
John R. Sharp '66
Preston R. Washington '75
Roberta B. Wiersma '35



©Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York

3041 Broadway at 121st Street, New York, NY 10027 | Tel: (212) 662-7100