Episcopal Divinity School @ Union

About EDS @ UNion

Visionary and transformative theological education, grounded in the love and justice of God, is more important than ever in developing leadership that builds thriving and effective church ministries. Episcopal Divinity School at Union Theological Seminary (EDS@Union) is a place that will develop and nurture such leaders, with a focus on theological education, spiritual formation and community transformation. Here, students will carry forth the EDS mission of dismantling racism and working for social justice.

EDS @ Union’s Anglican Studies Program

The EDS@Union Anglican Studies program, informed by the global richness of Anglican and Episcopal traditions, will prepare students not simply to serve in a church, but to be the church. The goal of the program is to educate and prepare people for ministerial vocations that will be transformative both for them and the diverse ministries they serve and create.

The Master of Divinity (M.Div.) degree program will include a clear pathway for those called to ordained ministry and for those called to various lay ministries. Both pathways will train students to be effective preachers, administrators, liturgical leaders and spiritual guides. The Anglican Studies Program intentionally engages disparities in society based on gender, race, class, sexuality and other marginalizing forces with particular attention to the implications for ministerial leadership in the Anglican communion.

Students will develop core competencies in the Episcopal Church’s six canonical areas of study, including scripture, church history, Christian theology, ethics, liturgy and worship, Episcopal Church polity and ministerial practice.They will also participate in a required spiritual formation program. In addition to a rigorous theological education, EDS@Union students will be required to plan and lead Eucharist, morning prayer, and evensong, as well as participate in quiet days and peer formation groups and work with a prayer partner.

required credits
  • 6 credits – Liturgy
  • 3 credits – Anglican church history
  • 3 credits – Anglican studies elective
  • 3 credits – Theology
  • 3 credits – Anglican church missiology
  • First-year and capstone seminar
  • One course on non-Christian religious tradition
  • One course on racial, gender, ethnic, sexual, or religious injustice

Core Faculty

The Rev. Dr. Euan K. Cameron, Henry Luce III Professor of Reformation Church History

The Rev. Dr. Pamela Cooper-White, Christiane Brooks Johnson Professor of Psychology and Religion

The Rev. Dr. Gary Dorrien, Reinhold Niebuhr Professor of Social Ethics

Dr. John J. Thatamail, Associate Professor of Theology and World Religions

The Rev. Dr. Kelly Brown Douglas, Dean of EDS@Union

The core faculty will be complemented by a cohort of distinguished Anglican scholars and church leaders.

For more information, contact EDSinfo@uts.columbia.edu.